Archives

Mon univers

Conch shells, ceramics from the Balkans, flotsam and industrial glass: the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich is dedicating its first exhibition in the newly renovated Pavillon Le Corbusier to the Swiss architect of the century’s passion for collecting, in a display providing insight into his creative cosmos.

Sebastião Salgado – Genesis

Sebastião Salgado depicts the earth as a creation of overwhelming beauty. The exhibition is a dramatic manifesto that not only touches visitors with its opulent black-and-white photographs, but also raises open questions about how we deal with the planet.

Bally – Swiss Shoes Since 1851

Bally, founded in Switzerland, achieved worldwide fame with top-class shoes. The company is considered to have pioneered combining craftsmanship, industrial innovation and fashion design.

The Curatorial Project

By growing their ideas into finished concepts, MA Art Education students specializing in Curatorial Studies, i.e. prospective exhibition makers, developed their own exhibitions. A jury selected the most exciting exhibition concept for implementation.

SBB CFF FFS

Original objects, photographs, posters, video installations, and a model railway invite visitors on a journey through time—from the company’s beginnings to tomorrow’s mobility.

Design Studio: Processes

In the Toni-Areal the Museum für Gestaltung launches “Design Studio”, a new interactive type of exhibition. It provides rare insights into the design process of important designers while also offering visitors a platform for learning and experimentation.

Knowledge in Images – Information Design today

Whether for visualizing big data, publishing journalistic findings, spatial orientation, or as material promoting effective learning and teaching—information design explains the most diverse contents within the shortest time through combining much visual material with few words.

Collection Highlights

Featuring 2000 highlights from this internationally significant collection, the newly refurbished main building invites visitors to discover the world of beautiful, useful, and curious everyday objects.

Archives

Mon univers

Escargots marins, céramique des Balkans, épaves et verre industriel : le Museum für Gestaltung Zürich consacre sa première exposition organisée dans le Pavillon Le Corbusier tout juste rénové à la fièvre collectionneuse du plus grand architecte suisse du XXe siècle. Elle offre ainsi un tour d’horizon de son univers créatif.

Sebastião Salgado – Genesis

Sebastião Salgado nous montre la planète comme une création d’une beauté grandiose. Genesis est un manifeste majeur, dont les opulentes photographies en noir et blanc font bien plus que nous toucher : elles posent aussi des questions en suspens sur nos rapports à la planète.

Bally – Une affaire de chaussures

Avec ses chaussures de première classe, Bally a acquis une renommée mondiale. L’entreprise fondée en Suisse est considérée comme une pionnière du mariage entre savoir-faire artisanal, innovation industrielle et design en vogue.

Le projet de commissariat

Des étudiants du master Art Education Curatorial Studies, c’est-à-dire de futurs créateurs d’exposition, ont conçu leurs propres expositions, de l’idée au produit fini. Un jury a sélectionné le projet le plus captivant en vue de le réaliser.

SBB CFF FFS

Objets originaux, photographies, affiches, installations vidéo et un train miniature invitent à un voyage dans le temps – des débuts des CFF à la mobilité de demain.

Design Studio: Processus

Avec « Design Studio », le Museum für Gestaltung inaugure un nouveau format d’exposition interactif dans la Toni-Areal qui permettra aux visiteurs de découvrir de manière insolite les processus de création de grands designers.

Savoirs en images – Le design d’information aujourd’hui

Que cela concerne la visualisation de big data, la publication de connaissances journalistiques, l’orientation dans l’espace ou des documents pour apprendre et enseigner efficacement, le design d’information explique en un temps minimal des contenus extrêmement variés et associe dans ce but un grand nombre d’images à un minimum de mots.

Collection Highlights

La nouvelle salle du sous-sol de l’Ausstellungsstrasse invite à admirer plus environ 2000 chefs-d’œuvre du monde entier et à découvrir l’univers des objets du quotidien dans toute leur beauté, utilité ou étrangeté.