About

The Museum für Gestaltung Zürich is the leading Swiss museum for design and visual communication. Since its foundation in 1875, the museum has included what has taken effect as design. Its internationally acclaimed collection comprises over half a million objects from the history of design. The museum reaches a broad national and international audience, at its two sites in Zurich and through its touring exhibitions. As part of Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich is actively involved in research and teaching and produces its own publications on a regular basis.

Exhibitions

Every year, five to seven exhibitions engage with current themes and issues from the various design genres shaping everyday visual life. Smaller productions and interventions tell the stories of designed things and suggest how images or designers might be approached.

Touring Exhibitions

The museum conceives exhibitions that are perfectly suited to display at other museums. Our in-house productions go on regular international tours.

Education

Our richly faceted educational program offers exceptional insights into design themes and invites you to discuss, experiment, and create your own designs. Our studios provide much inspiration and material for you to pursue your own ideas and creative processes.

Research

The museum conducts research in cooperation with universities and other partners. Research activities focus on the thematic areas of the various collections. Their objects and documents, of which some are still unexplored, offer great potential for innovative research projects.

Publications

The museum produces publications dedicated to the classics of national and international design history, to the pioneers of design theory and practice, and to current research topics — volumes are either self-published or published in association with renowned publishing houses.

Posters

We develop our own advertising material for all our exhibitions. Produced in association with alternating designers, our exhibition posters receive awards on a regular basis.

Venue Hire & Events

The museum provides a stylish setting for your next event. The lecture hall at our main building on Ausstellungsstrasse provides an excellent platform for events in the heart of Zurich — with seating for up to 280 people.

Loans & Image Services

The objects held in our four collections are available for loans. The museum offers a range of image services (subject to charge), including pictorial reproductions of collected objects and poster reprints.

University

The museum is part of Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK). This partnership has existed since the foundation of the School of Arts and Crafts in 1878. The museum maintains close relations with all ZHdK departments and also contributes to teaching and research.

Über uns

Das Museum für Gestaltung Zürich ist das führende Schweizer Museum für Design und visuelle Kommunikation. Seit der Gründung 1875 nimmt es auf, was als Gestaltung wirksam ist. Seine Sammlung vereint über eine halbe Million Objekte der Grafik- und Designgeschichte und ist von internationaler Bedeutung. An den beiden Standorten in Zürich sowie international durch seine Wanderausstellungen erreicht das Museum ein breites Publikum. Als Teil der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK ist das Museum in der Forschung und Lehre engagiert und realisiert regelmässig eigene Publikationen.

Ausstellungen

Jährlich fünf bis sieben Ausstellungen verhandeln aktuelle Themenfelder aus diversen Designgattungen, die für unseren visuellen Alltag prägend sind. Kleinere Inszenierungen und Interventionen erzählen von gestalteten Dingen und vom Umgang mit Bildern oder Gestalterpersönlichkeiten.

Wanderausstellungen

Das Museum konzipiert Ausstellungen, die sich hervorragend für eine Übernahme durch andere Museen eignen. Die Eigenproduktionen des Museum für Gestaltung Zürich sind regelmässig auf internationaler Tournee.

Vermittlung

Das vielfältige Vermittlungsprogramm ermöglicht aussergewöhnliche Einblicke in Themen der Gestaltung und lädt ein zum Diskutieren, Experimentieren und Selbstgestalten. Die Ateliers bieten Anregung und Material für eigene Ideen und kreative Prozesse.

Forschung

Das Museum forscht in Zusammenarbeit mit Hochschulen und Forschungspartnern. Die Inhaltsfelder der Sammlungen sind Hauptgegenstand der Forschung. Deren teils noch unerschlossenen Objekte und Dokumente bieten viel Potenzial für innovative Forschungsprojekte.

Publikationen

Das Museum realisiert Publikationen mit Fokus auf Klassiker der nationalen und internationalen Designgeschichte, Pioniere aus Theorie und Praxis sowie aktuelle Forschungsthemen – selbst verlegt und in Kooperation mit renommierten Verlagen.

Plakate

Für jede Ausstellung entwickelt das Museum eigenständige Werbemittel. Die gemeinsam mit wechselnden Gestalterinnen und Gestaltern realisierten Plakate erhalten regelmässig Auszeichnungen.

Raummiete & Anlässe

Das Museum sorgt für einen stilvollen Rahmen für Ihren nächsten Anlass. Mit dem Vortragssaal am Standort Ausstellungsstrasse steht eine hervorragende Plattform für Veranstaltungen mitten im Herzen von Zürich bereit – mit Platz für bis zu 280 Personen.

Leihgaben & Bilddienstleistungen

Die Sammlungsobjekte des Museums stehen für Leihgaben zur Verfügung. Das Museum bietet kostenpflichtige Bilddienstleistungen an, die Abbildungen der Objekte aller vier Sammlungen umfassen, sowie Nachdrucke von Plakaten aus der Sammlung.

Hochschule

Das Museum ist Teil der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste ZHdK. Diese Partnerschaft besteht bereits seit Gründung der Kunstgewerbeschule 1878. Das Museum ist mit allen Abteilungen in Kontakt und zudem in der Lehre und Forschung engagiert.