About

The Museum für Gestaltung Zürich is the leading Swiss museum for design and visual communication. Since its foundation in 1875, the museum has included what has taken effect as design. Its internationally acclaimed collection comprises over half a million objects from the history of design. The museum reaches a broad national and international audience, at its two sites in Zurich and through its touring exhibitions. As part of Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), the Museum für Gestaltung Zürich is actively involved in research and teaching and produces its own publications on a regular basis.

Exhibitions

Every year, five to seven exhibitions engage with current themes and issues from the various design genres shaping everyday visual life. Smaller productions and interventions tell the stories of designed things and suggest how images or designers might be approached.

Touring Exhibitions

The museum conceives exhibitions that are perfectly suited to display at other museums. Our in-house productions go on regular international tours.

Education

Our richly faceted educational program offers exceptional insights into design themes and invites you to discuss, experiment, and create your own designs. Our studios provide much inspiration and material for you to pursue your own ideas and creative processes.

Research

The museum conducts research in cooperation with universities and other partners. Research activities focus on the thematic areas of the various collections. Their objects and documents, of which some are still unexplored, offer great potential for innovative research projects.

Publications

The museum produces publications dedicated to the classics of national and international design history, to the pioneers of design theory and practice, and to current research topics — volumes are either self-published or published in association with renowned publishing houses.

Posters

We develop our own advertising material for all our exhibitions. Produced in association with alternating designers, our exhibition posters receive awards on a regular basis.

Venue Hire & Events

The museum provides a stylish setting for your next event. The lecture hall at our main building on Ausstellungsstrasse provides an excellent platform for events in the heart of Zurich — with seating for up to 280 people.

Loans & Image Services

The objects held in our four collections are available for loans. The museum offers a range of image services (subject to charge), including pictorial reproductions of collected objects and poster reprints.

University

The museum is part of Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK). This partnership has existed since the foundation of the School of Arts and Crafts in 1878. The museum maintains close relations with all ZHdK departments and also contributes to teaching and research.

À propos de notre institution

Le Museum für Gestaltung Zürich est le plus grand musée suisse de design et de communication visuelle. Depuis sa fondation en 1875, le musée accueille tout ce qui touche au design. Ses collections d’envergure internationale rassemblent plus d’un demi-million d’objets de l’histoire du design et des arts graphiques. Que ce soit sur ses deux sites zurichois ou à l’étranger grâce à des expositions temporaires, le musée touche un vaste public. Intégré à la Haute école des arts de Zurich (ZHdK), il s’investit dans l’enseignement et la recherche et publie régulièrement ses propres ouvrages.

Expositions

Chaque année, cinq à sept expositions abordent des questions d’actualité issues de différents champs du design qui marquent notre quotidien visuel. Des petites scénographies et interventions évoquent des objets de design, des grands créateurs ou notre rapport aux images.

Expositions itinérantes

Le musée conçoit des expositions qui se prêtent idéalement à leur reprise par d’autres musées. Les productions du Museum für Gestaltung Zürich partent régulièrement en tournée internationale.

Médiation culturelle

Les nombreuses activités de médiation offrent des perspectives exceptionnelles sur différents thèmes du design et invitent à discuter, à expérimenter et à concevoir ses propres objets. Les ateliers mettent suggestions et matériaux à la disposition des idées et des processus créatifs des visiteurs.

Recherche

Le musée s’investit dans la recherche en coopération avec des universités et d’autres partenaires. Il se concentre ce faisant sur les champs thématiques de ses collections. Leurs objets et documents, dont certains n’ont pas encore été dépouillés ou étudiés, offrent un grand potentiel pour des projets de recherche innovants.

Publications

Le musée conçoit ses propres publications, portant sur les classiques de l’histoire du design nationale et internationale, les pionniers de théories ou de pratiques ainsi que sur des sujets de recherche actuels, qu’il édite lui-même ou en coopération avec de grandes maisons d’édition.

Affiches

Le musée élabore les supports publicitaires de chacune de ses expositions. Les affiches conçues avec divers créateurs sont régulièrement primées.

Location des locaux & événements

Le musée offre un cadre d’exception à votre événement. La salle de conférences sur l’Ausstellungsstrasse met à votre disposition une tribune exceptionnelle pour organiser vos manifestations en plein centre de Zurich – et peut accueillir jusqu’à 280 personnes.

Prêts & reproductions

Les objets des collections du musée peuvent être empruntés. Le musée propose des services de reproduction payants, qu’il s’agisse de photographies des objets des quatre collections ou de réimpressions d’affiches de sa collection.

Université

Le musée est intégré à la Haute école des arts de Zurich (ZHdK). Ce partenariat remonte à la fondation de la Kunstgewerbeschule (École d’arts appliqués) en 1878. Le musée entretient des contacts avec tous les départements de l’école et s’investit de surcroît dans l’enseignement et la recherche.

Ressources numériques

Le Museum für Gestaltung Zürich est présent dans le monde numérique avec son site Internet, l’eMuseum, l’eGuide et les réseaux sociaux. Le but est de rendre le musée plus accessible à tous, de raconter de nouvelles histoires, autant que d’explorer de nouvelles formes de communication interactive.

Offres d'emploi

Les offres d'emploi du musée sont publiées sur la site Internet de la Haute école des arts de Zurich :